1883 Township Map

Townships of St. Louis County

Originally for planning purposes, St. Louis County was divided up into townships. The actual boundaries can be seen on a black/white 1883 St. Louis Township Map published in the "History of St. Louis City and County" by J. Thomas Scharf – and can be accessed at http://www.usgennet.org/usa/mo/county/stlouis/

These townships were:

  • St. Ferdinand
  • Central
  • Bonhomme
  • Meramec
  • Carondelet

While these identities may have the same names as actual towns or cities, they are not analogous. For instance St. Ferdinand township encompassed an area from present day Bridgeton, Ferguson, Florissant, Black Jack, Spanish Lake and all of "North County" to the boundary to the City of St. Louis.

Today the County is still divided up into townships, but many more have been added and it is vastly different arrangement from the 1883 version.

History's Time Portal to Old St. Louis, by Scott K. Williams, Florissant, Mo.